When I was on my teen age, I have seen girls holding a flower or bouquet of beautiful flowers during Valentine’s Days, Birthdays, or any other special occasions that you could think of. Sometimes, even there is no special occasion; giving flowers is another way of expressing their feelings. It could be feeling of love, forgiveness, thankfulness, appreciation, etc. There are many different meaning that flowers represents when it was given to you. I can still remember the first time that I received one from my classmate when I was in high school. It was Valentine’s Day. That was something really nice, knowing that there is someone who remembers to give you one beautiful rose during that special day. I appreciate it but, honestly speaking, I do not give much attention during that time, because I am still young. I am not like my classmates who kept it for long or took care of it. They kept those in their notebooks until it withered. They also put notes to remember that special thing given by their special someone. For me, it was different. I just put it in a jar on my vanity table. I will just let it stay there. Hindi din kasi ako sanay sa mga ganong bagay dati. Siguro kasi malayo naman sa ganon ang focus ko.

Then, time changed, even my attitude towards things. If that was something like an ordinary before, now it is not the same. Time changes and so you are. You will just notice that even the smallest things that someone gives you (your family, your closest friends, and your special someone) would be something really special. I have learned to appreciate almost all things that I receive/I will; and there are times that I wish to receive a kind of thing that I even can afford to buy. It is not the price, but the worth it brings that makes me want to keep it for a long time. It is something that you will even treasure for the rest of your life. Ganon na ako ngayon, especially if things came from those who are very close to my heart. Yung kahit na yung bagay na ‘yon ay malanta, masira, maluma, binibigyan ko parin ng halaga by keeping it in a safe place.

“Flowers always make people better, happier and more helpful; they are sunshine, food and medicine to the soul.” – Luther Burbank

Giving one beautiful flower can actually change everything, especially the mood of the person. I am so guilty with that! Every time I see flowers everywhere, I always have something to say like…

Ang ganda naman!

Nakakarelax tignan.

Ang saya tignan nung kulay.

Gusto ko din non.

Obviously, may pagpaparinig lang yung huli kong sinabi. Haha! There is something magical that really comes out whenever I see beautiful flowers.

It was during college when I prayed for something. I asked for a sign. Sobrang normal sakin yung ganyan lalo na kapag ayoko na magtanong pa sa iba kasi magugulo lang yung isip ko. That if there would be someone who will give me a bouquet of flowers will be my next, and hopefully my last. That someone would definitely not a stranger, but could be the one I am giving my attention.

It was around year 2012 when my first boyfriend and I decided to have our own path separately. It was a long time relationship that we never expected that will come to an end.  Something has changed, and the best way to do is to let each other go. I just thought that nothing will stay for long. After all, life must go on.

Then, I met someone. He was the total opposite of me. Let’s just not give any details to it (sakin nalang yon *smile*), but that was a really nice experienced. That was also unexpected and unpredictable. During that time, I never give attention to anyone, until that person came. I know there is something special in him that made me fall.

It was February 14, 2013 (Obviously, Valentine’s Day); we did not meet in school. I just thought that he is not going to attend classes. I was really expecting to see him in the afternoon, and guess what… He came! But wait…

Huwaaaaat? Hala! Teka lang! Ano ‘to? Bakit may ganito? Ah… kasi nga Valentine’s Car diba. Pero teka! Mahal kaya ‘to? Totoo ba? Sakin talaga ‘to? Okay… Halata naman na para sakin talaga ‘to diba. (I was speaking to myself. Haha!)

gfdhgf

And I just told him “Thank you! Ang ganda!”

“The flowers take the tears of weeping night and give them to the sun for day’s delight.” – Joseph S. Cotter, Sr.

Siguro nagtataka ka kung bakit ganon reaction ko nung binigyan ako ng bouquet. To tell you honestly, I have not received one from my first; and when we separated ways, I asked for a sign:

“That if there would be someone who will give me a bouquet of flowers will be my next, and hopefully my last. That someone would definitely not a stranger, but could be the one I am giving my attention.”

“Flowers have spoken to me more than I can tell in written words. They are the hieroglyphics of angels, loved by all men for the beauty of their character.” – Lydia M. Child

I will never forget that moment.

At the end of the day I just realized, it is not just about how beautiful the flowers are or how much it was bought, but it is all about the person who gave you that flowers; and how beautiful the situation came true from the sign you’ve ones asked for.

Leave a Reply

